top of page

Move 4: A Seal's Story

After learning about endurance athletes, navy seals specifically became very intriguing. What makes them tick? How can one person be so focused on training safely so their body isn't harmed, while another person can put their life on the line in order to reach a goal or prize...

"After doing research on David Goggins and finding out what makes him tick, I thought it would be interesting to do more research on Navy Seals. They seem to have some kind of inner strength and power that is truly inspirational" (Capstone- Move 4).

Here's 5 quick minutes about the insane training and obstacles that a navy seal must overcome, and how they can NEVER lose focus and ALWAYS stay motivated:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CW0qyluNiE

I found it interesting when researching about navy seals because many of their ideas directly contradict some of the ideas I researched in my previous moves. For example, in Move 2, I focused my research on overtraining: "I decided to dive a little more into the article I read titled “What It Actually Means to Listen To Your Body”. While reading, I came across the quote, “Pain is weakness leaving the body” (Greatist). The author hates this quote because he believes it’s unhealthy for someone to push themselves through the pain" (Capstone- Move 2). However, while investigating navy seals, they use this quote to push themselves day after day. (As the picture shown above represents). This explains the 40% rule that the particular seal I researched in move 4 talks about. The Seal “had this rule that when your mind is telling you that you're done, you're only 40% done" (Itzler) (Capstone- Move 4). So when your body is telling you that you are done, seals believe that you still have 60% to give, while others believe this would be overtraining, putting your body and health at risk. This explains why and how Navy Seals are so inpirational.

Featured Review
bottom of page